2022 Stephen A. Schwarzman Grant Awards Announced—$2.65 million awarded to 100 Elite Track & Field Athletes

2022 Stephen A. Schwarzman Grant Awards Announced—$2.65 million awarded to 100 Elite Track & Field Athletes


As the track & field community gears up for the highly anticipated 2022 World Athletics Championships in Eugene, Oregon, the USATF Foundation proudly announces its 2022 class of Stephen A. Schwarzman grantees.  The Stephen A. Schwarzman grants are the Foundation’s largest award and provide an unprecedented level of support to our World Championship Team USA.

This year, 65 athletes will each receive $30,000 Stephen A Schwarzman grants and another 35 athletes will each receive $20,000 Stephen A. Schwarzman grants.  The $2.65 million awarded to these 100 athletes represent a $700,000 increase in Stephen A. Schwarzman funding from 2021.

In an effort to further assist the USATF Foundation’s mission of supporting emerging elite athletes, 10 of the Stephen A. Schwarzman awards will be reserved for athletes just graduating college or recently turned pro.  This unique financial assistance will help athletes during their transition while giving them the resources needed to participate at the highest level.

“It is an honor to support these athletes as they train for the highest levels of competition,” said Stephen Schwarzman. “Their determination is an inspiration to me and so many others across the country.”

The funding will be used to cover expenses such as equipment, coaching, travel, medical costs, recovery tools and services.  As the USATF Foundation’s largest donor, Mr. Schwarzman has donated over $14 million to the grant program and with this year’s grants has distributed $8.4 million to support 455 elite athletes over the last 10 years.  “Mr. Schwarzman continues to show unwavering generosity to our elite athletes.  This type of support was not available when I was in my prime.  It is because of grants like these that Team USA can continue its tradition of excellence,” stated USATF Foundation Board Member Willie Banks.

All USATF Foundation grants are selected from a pool of qualified applicants.  Elite athletes are required to apply each year and are encouraged to complete the process in April or May.  The Stephen A. Schwarzman grants are decided upon by the USATF Foundation Elite Grant Committee and criteria is based primarily on athlete’s potential to medal at the next Olympic Games or World Championships.  Consideration is also given to monetary need.  Please Note: Additional USATF Foundation Elite Grants will be announced tomorrow.

“I would love to thank Stephen A. Schwarzman for making me one of the recipients of this grant!  The funding will be extremely helpful in my efforts to take care of my body for the sport. Along with my coach and my family, I sincerely thank you for everything and everyone that you are helping!” added Stephen A. Schwarzman grantee Marvin Bracy–Williams, 100m.

The following 65 athletes will receive Stephen A. Schwarzman grant awards in the amount of $30,000 each.

Abby Steiner 200m
Adelaide Aquilla Shot Put
Alaysha Johnson 100m
Aleia Hobbs 100m
Alicia Monson 10000m
Andrew Evans Discus
Brooke Andersen Hammer
Chase Ealey Shot Put
Christian Taylor Triple Jump
Christopher Nilsen Pole Vault
Cory McGee 1500m
Courtney Frerichs Steeplechase
Courtney Wayment Steeplechase
Dalilah Muhammad 400m
Daniel Haugh Hammer
Daniel Roberts 110m
Donald Scott Triple Jump
Donovan Brazier 800m
Elise Cranny 5000m
Emma Coburn Steeplechase
Evan Jager Steeplechase
Fred Kerley 100m/200m
Gabby Thomas 200m
Grant Fisher 5000m / 10000m
Grant Holloway 110m
Hillary Bor Steeplechase
Janee Kassanavoid Hammer
Jenna Prandini 200m
Jessica Woodard Shot Put
Joe Kovacs Shot Put
Joseph Klecker 10000m
Josh Awotunde Shot
JuVaughn Harrison High Jump
Katie Nageotte Pole Vault
Kendall Ellis 400m
Kendell Williams Heptathlon
Kendra Harrison 100m
Kenneth Bednarek 200m
Keturah Orji Triple Jump
Khallifah Rosser 400m
Laulauga Tausaga-Collins Discus
Luke Winder Pole Vault
Lynna Irby 400m
Maggie Ewen Shot Put
Marvin Bracy-Williams 100m
Michael Cherry 400m
Quanesha Burks Long Jump
Raevyn Rogers 800m
Rudy Winkler Hammer
Ryan Crouser Shot Put
Sam Mattis Discus
Sandi Morris Pole Vault
Shelby McEwen High Jump
Sinclaire Johnson 1500m
Steffin McCarter Long Jump
Tamara Clark 200m
Tori Franklin Triple Jump
Trevor Bassitt 400m
Trey Cunningham 110m
Tripp Piperi Shot Put
Twanisha Terry 100m
Valarie Allman Discus
Will Claye Triple Jump
William Kincaid 5000m
Zachery Ziemek Decathlon


The following 35 athletes will receive Stephen A. Schwarzman grant awards in the amount of $20,000 each.

Alex Young Hammer
Allie Wilson 800m
Ashtin Zamzow-Mahler Heptathlon
Benard Keter Steeplechase
Brittany Brown 200m
Chris Benard Triple Jump
Clayton Murphy 800m
Curtis Thompson Javelin
Darius Carbin High Jump
DeAnna Price Hammer
Emily Grove Pole Vault
Emily Sisson Marathon
Gabriela Leon Pole Vault
Heather MacLean 1500m
Isaiah Harris 800m
Jonathan Davis 1500m
Josette Norris 1500m
Joshua Thompson 1500m
Kristie Schoffield 800m
Molly Seidel Marathon
Monae’ Nichols Long Jump
Olivia Baker 800m
Paul Chelimo 5000m
Quincy Hall 400m
Rachel Dincoff Discus
Rachel McCoy High Jump
Sage Hurta 800m
Sam Kendricks Pole Vault
Sean McGorty 10,000m
Steven Bastien Decathlon
Tiffany Flynn Long Jump
Tonea Marshall 100m
Vernon Norwood 400m
Will Williams Long Jump
Yared Nuguse 1500m

The USATF Foundation provides a means to attract and guide funds to new and innovative track and field programs with an emphasis on providing opportunities for youth athletes, emerging and experienced elite athletes, along with guidance on future career paths. The Foundation depends upon donations from its Board of Directors, major gifts, and from generous fans of track & field.

Elite athletes are supported by the Foundation via monetary grants, career counseling (mentoring and jobs) and participation in Run With US!. Youth athletes are supported via monetary grants to youth clubs.

For more information, or to contribute to the USA Track & Field Foundation, Click Here or contact Tom Jackovic at (412) 398-2484 or tjackovic@usatffoundation.org.